The collection comprises six architectural plans for a proposed English Presbyterian church atthe corner of Villa Road and Mansfield Road, Nottingham. The plans were drawn up by Brewill andBaily, a firm of Nottingham architects. They are hand coloured, dated 1898 and consist of a siteplan (MS 717/1); a plan of the interior showing the layout the church and the pews within it (MS717/2); elevations for the side of the church facing Villa Road and the end of the church (MS717/3); an elevation for the other side (MS 717/4); a longitudinal section of the church showing itsinternal arches and roof trusses (MS 717/5); and an elevation for the church where it facesMansfield Road (MS 717/6).
Architectural plans of Mansfield Road Presbyterian Church, Nottingham by Brewill andBaily, architects of Nottingham, 1898
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 717
- Dates of Creation1898
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description6 plans
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Arthur William Brewill started an architectural practice in Exchange Chambers, Greyhound Street,Nottingham sometime between 1880 and 1885. The practice was still active in 1936 as A.W. Brewill andSon of 3 Victoria Street, Nottingham. By 1950, the firm was known as Brewill Son and Nunn. The lastconfirmed date of the firm's activity is 1956. Brewill accepted a variety of commissions and workedon private houses, churches and industrial premises. Nothing is known of Baily, a partner withBrewill in 1898 when the firm prepared the plans in this collection.
The English Presbyterian church, Mansfield Road, Nottingham was located at the intersection withVilla Road. It was erected between 1896 and 1900. By 1950, use of the building as a Presbyterianchurch had ceased; it was renamed Emanuel Full Gospel Church. It was renamed again by 1956 as the2nd Church of Christ Scientist and it housed the Christ Scientist reading room.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
- This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.
Conditions Governing Use
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com).
The collection came into the hands of the United Reform Church History Society and was acquiredby the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in June2001.