In 1884, George Rooper (d. 1905), of Nascott House, Watford, acquired the Llanerchrugog estate, Denbighshire, from a Thomas Jones. The estate included minerals at Llwyneinion which were leased to J.C. Edwards of Trevor Hall, Ruabon, brickmaster, and to Powells, brickmasters of Buckley. Thomas Jones also owned Pant-Glas and Tan-y-Graig farms, Llangollen, and in 1883 the Pant Glas slate and slab quarry company was formed to develop land at Eglwyseg. The estate was sold after 1905.
Scope and content: Deeds relating to Llanerchrugog Hall estate mainly in Ruabon and Wrexham, including leases of coal and fire clay on the Llwyneinion estate, 1854-1909; legal papers, 1855-1907; sale papers, plans, reports, accounts and rentals of Llanerchrugog Hall estate, Llwyneinion brickworks, Rhos, and Wynne slate quarry, 1905-1916; deeds, correspondence, accounts and papers concerning Pant Glas slate quarry and tramway, Llangollen, 1877-1906; and papers of the executors of George Rooper.