Records of the Sealyham Terrier Club, 1911-1989, comprising minutes, 1911-1961, register of members, 1915-1962, and copies of Sealyham Terrier Club Magazine, 1987-1989; and yearbooks and handbooks of the American Sealyham Terrier Club, 1942-1989.
Sealyham Terrier Clubs Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 DSO/63
- Dates of Creation1911-1989
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(29 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Sealyham Terrier was bred in the 19th century by Captain John Owen Tucker-Edwardes, of Sealyham, St Dogwells, Pembrokeshire; he wished to develop a rough-haired terrier for vermin control. The first Sealyham Terrier Club was established in 1908; it published an annual magazine, Sealyham Terrier Club Magazine. The English Kennel Club first recognized the Sealyham breed in 1910. The American Sealyham Terrier Club was established in 1913.
Arranged into the following: Sealyham Terrier Club; and American Sealyham Terrier Club.
Parts deposited, 1988-1990; and part deposited by the President of the American Sealyham Terrier Club, 1989.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Sealyham Terrier Clubs (HDSO/63), catalogue; Jones, Francis, Historic Houses of Pembrokeshire and their Families (Newport, Pembrokeshire, 1996); CanineConcepts website (www.canineconcepts.co.uk), viewed 30 June 2005; American Sealyham Terrier Club website (http://clubs.akc.org/sealy/), viewed 30 June 2005.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected