Comprising: Registration: Registers of Baptisms 1563-1979, Registers of Marriages 1564-1990, Registers of Burials 1563-1974, Registers of Banns 1981-1995, Registers of Services 1902-1992; Incumbent 1736-1939; churchwardens: terriers (5) 1770-1912, other records 1832-1988 and deeds for various places unrelated to the parish 1682-1795; PCC minutes 1920-1994 and accounts 1937-1947; schools (miscellaneous) 1861-1940; other records 1756-1983 including returns for the 1831 census (statistics only); Tithe approtionment and map for Sutton 1838; altered apportionments, Sutton and Owston 1852;
CAMPSALL, ST MARY MAGDALENE PARISH RECORDS
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 197 P15
- Dates of Creation1563-1992
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description58 boxes 0.928 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Parts of this parish were transferred to the parishes of Askern and Fenwick.
From early times the parish of Campsall consisted of six townships or hamlets; Campsall, Askern, Fenwick, Moss, Norton and Sutton. At the time of the Domesday survey in 1086, the area was in the possession of Ilbert de Lacy, the founder of Pontefract Castle. The fact that Domesday does not mention a church here is no proof that such did not exist, since cases are to be found where there is similarly no such reference. Yet the existing church contains work of pre-Conquest date; there may have been merely a chapel attached to the manor without parochial rights. The earliest existing work in the church is of twelfth century date.
In the reign of Edward I Henry Lacy obtained a royal charter for a market at Campsall, which would suggest that it was a place of some consequence by that time. By 1288 the benefice was in the Taxatio of Pope Nicholas IV (1291) and had an annual value of £66 13s. 4d. By a curious arrangement, the chapel of St. Clement in Pontefract Castle had a share in tithe. The probable explanation of this anomaly is the fact that Ilbert de Lacy and his successors held both estates and adopted this method of supporting the chapel which was an important foundation in its own right. In 1336 there was a composition under the sanction of the Archbishop of York in the name of Thomas de Bracton, Rector of Campsall, and William de Mudene, Prebendary of the chapel, by which one hundred shillings was to be paid by the Rector in lieu of the tithe.
A great change took place in 1481 when Edward IV granted the rectory of Campsall to the Priory of Wallingwells in Nottinghamshire, a small house of Benedictine nuns. In the following year Thomas Rotherham, Archbishop of York, appropriated it to this purpose and decreed that henceforth the benefice should be served by a Vicar, and gave the appointment to Cambridge University. After the dissolution of the monasteries under Henry VIII the rectorial tithes passed into lay hands.
The township account book listed at P15/6/1/1 was added to this collection in September 2010. Doncaster Archives purchased this item from an antiquarian bookseller in August 2010.
The collection is divided into eleven series as follows:
P15/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship
P15/4: Vestry and Parochial Church Council
P15/5: Auxiliary Organisations
P15/7: Charities and Trusts
P15/9: Statutory Deposits
P15/10: Miscellaneous Records
P15/11: Other Records [Deeds etc]
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries