Blaenau Ffestiniog Tunnel

Scope and Content

Entrance and portal at the south end of Blaenau Ffestiniog. The portal is crowned by a large stone panel bearing the name of the engineer W. Smith, and the date,1879, when the last section of the line finally opened. The tunnel carries the line through the solid rock of Moel Dyrnogydd at almost 800 feet above sea level. At 2 miles 206 yards in length, it is the eighth longest tunnel in the country.