- Directors' minute books 1953-1971;
- Shareholding records 1890-1969;
- Financial records 1916-1971;
- Trade marks 1966;
- Sales records 1949-1958;
- Property records 1968-1971;
- Promotional material 1950s;
- Photographs 1980s.
Records of John Young & Co Ltd, brewers, Musselburgh, East Lothian, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 JY
- Dates of Creation1890-1980s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.10 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Young established the Ladywell Brewery, North High Street, Fisherrow, Musselburgh, Scotland , in about 1830. John Young & Co Ltd was registered in 1891 as a limited liability company to acquire the business. The company was taken over, along with 11 licensed houses, by Whitbread & Co Ltd , London, England, in 1968 and ceased to brew in January 1969 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Whitbread Group plc
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. More material came from the Whitbread Archive, London, in 2001. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 7 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 20 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 19 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 17 May 2012.