- Corporate records 1931-1960;
- Shareholding records 1931-1955;
- Financial records 1931-1967;
- Production records 1944-1960;
- Staff records 1936-1953;
- Licensed premises records 1931-1959;
- Property records 1935-1973;
- Public relations 1960-1993.
Records of Scottish Brewers Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 SB
- Dates of Creation1931-1993
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2.87 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Scottish Brewers Ltd was registered in 1931 as a limited liability company to acquire William McEwan & Co Ltd , brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland , and William Younger & Co Ltd , brewers, Edinburgh. The company took over Red Tower Lager Brewery Ltd , Manchester, England , in 1956, Thomas & James Bernard Ltd , brewers, Edinburgh, and J & J Morison Ltd , Edinburgh and Robert Younger Ltd , brewers, Edinburgh, in 1960. It merged with Newcastle Breweries Ltd , Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England , in 1960 and changed its name to Scottish & Newcastle Breweries Ltd .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Scottish & Newcastle plc
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Ritchie, Berry . Good Company. The Story of Scottish & Newcastle ( London: James & James, 1999 )
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), Tuesday 20 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised and administrative history added by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 02 April 2002. Catalogue revised by Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 09 January 2009; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 11 May 2012.