Parish records of Naburn

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1877 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812); register of marriages, 1653-1835, 1839-1987; register of burials, 1653-1971 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1811); register of banns, 1828-1981; register of services, 1904-1976; register of confirmations, 1955-1971; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1880-1888, note of tithes paid on meadow land, 1732, and glebe papers, 1951-1955; charity records, including papers relating to Howard Charity and Loftus Charity, c.1868-1997, correspondence and papers, 1951-1952, and minutes of meetings of distributions, 1900-1971; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1735-1772, copy conveyance of new church site with consecration, 1853-1854, agreement for use of old church, 1856, fabric papers, 1967-1977, 2007-2010, and churchyard papers, 1972; constables’ accounts, 1735-1772; overseers’ accounts, 1735-1772; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Mothers' Union attendance register and record of speakers, 1954-1971, Mother's Union cash book, 1957-1971, Mothers' Union accounts, 1951-1971, and letters from bell-ringing teams, 1973-1974; school account book, 1902-1949; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes, 1921-1942, 1981-2002, accounts, 1921-1941, 1945-1978, 1982-1991, 1995-2010, agendas and draft minutes of meetings and financial papers, 1924-1989, insurance papers, 1927-1973, electoral papers, c.1970s, and parish note book, c.1929.

Administrative / Biographical History

Naburn was a chapelry within the parish of St George, York, until 1586, and then within the united parish of St George’s and St Denys’s, York, although part of the village also lay within the parish of Acaster Malbis. In 1842 it was made a parish in its own right. At this time the parishioners were served by the chapel of St Nicholas in the grounds of Naburn Hall.

The advowson belonged to the Palmes family of Naburn Hall from 1842 until 1911, when it passed to the Archbishop of York. In 1951 the vicarage of Naburn was united with that of Stillingfleet.

The parish church of St Matthew the Apostle was erected in 1853-1854 to a design by George Townsend Andrews. It was renovated and reopened in 1889, with the addition of an organ and new choir stalls, as well as an oak screen and stained glass windows by J. W. Knowles of York.

A churchyard was consecrated there in 1854 and extended in 1905. Prior to this date, parishioners had been buried at St George’s churchyard in York or at Acaster Malbis. There was also a parsonage house in Naburn by the eighteenth century. It was replaced by a new brick vicarage in 1877.

The church required substantial renovations by the late 1980s and was briefly declared redundant when funding could not be found. However an appeal was launched by parishioners and the church was restored and rededicated by the Archbishop of York.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Escrick and Stillingfleet with Naburn.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1969 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1979, 1980, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2010 and 2013.

Note

Naburn was a chapelry within the parish of St George, York, until 1586, and then within the united parish of St George’s and St Denys’s, York, although part of the village also lay within the parish of Acaster Malbis. In 1842 it was made a parish in its own right. At this time the parishioners were served by the chapel of St Nicholas in the grounds of Naburn Hall.

The advowson belonged to the Palmes family of Naburn Hall from 1842 until 1911, when it passed to the Archbishop of York. In 1951 the vicarage of Naburn was united with that of Stillingfleet.

The parish church of St Matthew the Apostle was erected in 1853-1854 to a design by George Townsend Andrews. It was renovated and reopened in 1889, with the addition of an organ and new choir stalls, as well as an oak screen and stained glass windows by J. W. Knowles of York.

A churchyard was consecrated there in 1854 and extended in 1905. Prior to this date, parishioners had been buried at St George’s churchyard in York or at Acaster Malbis. There was also a parsonage house in Naburn by the eighteenth century. It was replaced by a new brick vicarage in 1877.

The church required substantial renovations by the late 1980s and was briefly declared redundant when funding could not be found. However an appeal was launched by parishioners and the church was restored and rededicated by the Archbishop of York.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Escrick and Stillingfleet with Naburn.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010. Later material has not yet been listed, for further information please contact the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1653-1877, marriages, 1653-1900, burials, 1653-1900, banns, 1828-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1735-1772, and tithe rents, 1880-1888, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 742, 1753, 1766-1767).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 26.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193