Construction of A544 road from Bylchau to Llanfairtalhaiarn via Llansannan

Scope and Content

Photographs showing the building of the A544 from Bylchau to Llanfair TH via Llansannan. The 110 photographs have been grouped into three batches based upon the information originally written on the back: pictures taken between January 1927 and March 1928; pictures taken between June 1928 and October 1928; and undated pictures. Dates in square parentheses are based upon extrapolation of the original information, including possible negative numbers.

More information about the building of this road, including some of the photographs in this collection, can be found on pp83-86 of the book 'Bro Aled, Its People Past and Present' by Berwyn Evans (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2014).

Conditions Governing Access

Access Conditions: This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx

Custodial History

The photographs were given to the depositor by Christopher Madoc-Jones, the son of Geraint Wynne Madoc-Jones, who was the civil engineer in charge of the project.