Records of Hyrstlands Girls' Approved School

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

These are the papers of Hyrstlands, 1945-1988.

Hyrstlands was a Salvation Army Girls' Approved School in Batley, Yorkshire. It was open from 1944 until 1988.

The records of the school had not been kept in any 'original order' and have therefore been organised in a logical structure.

The arrangement of the records is as follows:

HL 0: Administrative papers

HL 1: Log books

HL 2: Identification records

HL 3: Case papers

HL 4: Personal papers

HL 5: Day books

HL 6: Photographs

HL 7: Residents' craft work

Administrative / Biographical History

Hyrstlands was at 8 Track Road, Batley, Yorkshire. It was a mansion standing in twenty-acres of ground which had previously been a private residence, and was opened as a Girls' Approved School on 25 October 1944. The Official Opening took place on 18 May 1945. The Salvation Army acquired this building specifically for use as an Approved School, and it remained so for a long period.

In 1953, accommodation was increased to 27+4. By 1966, it was reduced again to 29.

On the 26th May 1971, there was an official opening of a Pre-release Hostel with accommodation for 7 girls + 2 staff. Accommodation was revised to 34 altogether, although later it was reduced to 29.

On 1 October 1973, it became an Assisted Community Home/School. A study centre was opened in 1978, and admissions became for girls aged 10-14 years.

In 1988, Hyrstlands was closed.

Conditions Governing Access

Most of this collection is closed to the public. Records of a personal nature relating to identified individuals are closed for the lifespan of the individual. When it is not possible to establish whether an individual has died, a closure period of 75 years (if the individual was an adult when the record was created) or 100 years (if the individual was a child when the record was created) is imposed under the Data Protection Act [1998]. Former residents can apply for access to their own records. Please enquire for details. Open files can be viewed in the reading room of The Salvation Army International Heritage Centre, open Tue-Fri 9.30-4.00. To make an appointment or to enquire about your own records, phone: 0207 326 7800; or email: heritage@salvationarmy.org.uk.

Other Finding Aids

A multi-level description of this collection can be accessed in the International Heritage Centre's online catalogue: http://www.calmview.eu/SalvationArmy/CalmView/. A paper catalogue is available in the reading room of the International Heritage Centre.