COWLEY ST. JOHN CHURCH OF ENGLAND BOYS' SCHOOL

Scope and Content

This school was opened by the society of St John the Evangelist in 1867. It was originally intended to be mixed but became spilt into a boys school built on Princes' Street in 1871 (these records) and a girls school built on Cowley Road in 1880 (see S76/6). The two schools were merged together in September 1963 to form Cowley St John Upper School (see S76/7).

The sequence school log books and admissions registers are continued into S76/7.

The records were deposited as Acc 5186 in August 2003. Recatalogued with additions by Alison Smith in October 2008 and December 2016.