Magistrates Lists (North Wales Counties)

Scope and Content

Comprises lists of magistrates produced by county councils for North Wales counties of Anglesey (1884-1929), Caernarfonshire (1877-1929), Flintshire (1877-1929), Merioneth (1888-1929) and Montgomeryshire (1881-1929). Lists include number of magistrates for the county, their names, addresses and date of qualification. The Flintshire list also includes a list of Chairmen and Rural District Councils.

Administrative / Biographical History

Magistrates were maintained for the county administrations of all north Wales counties including Anglesey, Caernarfonshire, Flintshire, Merioneth and Montgomeryshire. These county boundaries existed until local government reorganisation in the 1990's.


Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users


Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, May 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 36658-36662

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.