Records of Carmel Independent Chapel, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen

Scope and Content

D/D Ind 39/1 Graveyard survey 1992

D/D Ind 39/2 Adroddiadau blynyddol (annual reports)

D/D Ind 39/3 Registers of members and their contributions (arranged by Sunday School class)

D/D Ind 39/4 Registers of attendances and contributions (unstructured)

D/D Ind 39/5 Orders of service

D/D Ind 39/6 Church history

D/D Ind 39/7 Records relating to Tabernacl Welsh Independent Church, Cwmgors

D/D Ind 39/8 Records relating to other churches and institutions

D/D Ind 39/9 Account books

D/D Ind 39/10 Minute books

D/D Ind 39/11 Membership records

D/D Ind 39/12 Records relating to the church building and other properties belonging to the church

D/D Ind 39/13 Audio recordings

D/D Ind 39/14 Plays

D/D Ind 39/15 Independent Order of Rechabites

D/D Ind 39/16 Photographs of Carmel Chapel, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen, and its members

D/D Ind 39/17 Medals and certificates issued for Sunday School attendance and long-service

Administrative / Biographical History

Carmel Independent Chapel, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen, Glamorgan (now neath Port Talbot), began when a schoolroom was built in 1762 by members of Cwmllynfell Independent Chapel. A church was formed and Carmel Chapel was opened in 1822. A new chapel was built in 1882 but the old chapel and graveyard were kept in use for burials.


Arranged into series by document type

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Records of Carmel Independent Chapel, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names