List of books donated to Coventry Grammar School by masters, scholars and citizens, c. 1601-1705.
Coventry Grammar School: Registers of Book Donors
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Coventry Grammar School was founded in the twelfth century as St John's Hospital to attend to the needs of the poor and the sick. During the dissolution of the monasteries the property was granted to John Hales, who used it as a private home. By 1557 it had opened as King Henry VIII's Free Grammar School.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.