HEYTHROP ESTATE

Scope and Content

The estate was sold to Charles Talbot, Duke of Shrewsbury, in 1705, and it became the main residence of the Earls of Shrewsbury. George Talbot, nephew of Gilbert, succeeded to the title in 1743 and died in 1787. The family continued to hold the estate until 1870, by which time the manorial rights appear to have lapsed.

The survey in this catalogue was purchased in 1983 and given the Accession number 2104.

Other material relating to this estate during the time it was owned by the Shrewsbury family can be found in this office, catalogued as part of the privately deposited records under the reference 'Shrew'. Documents included in that collection are Wages and Farm Accounts, Estate Valuations, Copy Rentals and a Sale Catalogue dated 1870, the year the estate was bought by Thomas Brassey, the railway engineer.

Catalogued by Mark Priddey, August 1992.

Access Information

Open