Comprises internal school records and management records.
Records of Mostyn Secondary School
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE20
- Dates of Creation1912-1970
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 boxes and 9 outsize vols
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Built in 1912 in Trinity Avenue, Llandudno Central School later became the Central Council School. Following the Education Act of 1944, it became Llandudno Secondary Modern school and finally Mostyn Secondary School. In 1969 the school was merged with John Bright Grammar School to become part of the new comprehensive school now known as John Bright School. Initially the Trinity Avenue site was used to house the "junior" section of the new comprehensive but later the school moved entirely to the John Bright campus at Oxford Road and the former Mostyn School building now houses Ysgol Gynradd Tudno, a primary school.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
The majority of the records were transferred direct from the school's successor body, John Bright School, c.2004.