Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School (formerly Richmond Central Girls' School)

Scope and Content

Administrative records for Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School and its predecessor school, Richmond Central Girls' School.

Administrative / Biographical History

Separate Girls' and Boys' selective Central Schools were opened on a single site on the Selwyn Estate in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, in September 1927. Richmond Central Boys' School (ref: S9) was located on the ground floor of the building, with Richmond Central Girls' School on the first floor. The schools ceased to be selective central schools in 1946, and became Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School and Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1967, and re-opened as Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School (ref: S11) in September 1967.

Arrangement

Richmond Central Girls' School opened in September 1927 on the same site in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, as Richmond Central Boys' School (ref: S9) . Although the schools were in the same building, each school had its own staff and administration, and separate accommodation on the same site, so the records of the Boys' and Girls' Schools have been catalogued separately. However, when Richmond Central Girls' School ceased to be selective in 1946, and became known as Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School, the administrative functions continued, with the records of Richmond Central Girls' School remaining in use. When the school closed in July 1967, all the administrative functions of the girls' school ceased, so the new mixed school which opened in September 1967, Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School, has its own fonds (ref: S11).



The Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School Collection is arranged into 2 series records:

  • S10/1 Admissions registers, 1945-1967
  • S10/2 Log Books, 1927-1964

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

School (ref: S11) in September 1967. The National Archives holds HMI Reports on Secondary Institutions, 1945-1955, for Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School (ref: ED109/9124/1).