Love Lane Board School, Denbigh opened in 1843/44 and was one of the earliest non denominational schools in North Wales. Board Schools were usually established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act and were often known as "Council Schools".
The school was built for the British Society which offered charitable aid to educational projects in the UK and around the world. It was stone built with a slate roof and consisted of 3 storeys in a Tudor style. The school amalgamated the pre- exisiting charity school of Dr Williams.
The school was separated into departments for boys and girls. The girls were moved to a new school in April 1895 on Grove Road known as Frongoch Girls' School and Love Lane was the boys only school until its closure in 1938.
Head teachers of the boys school included Edward Ellis 1864-1879 and E.J. Roberts 1893-1929.
The school closed in October 1938 and the under 11s boys were tranferred to Frongoch School. The 11+ pupils were transferred to the new Central School at Caledfryn on Ruthin Road. . In 1944 this became a secondary modern school. In 1950 it became known as Ysgol Caledfryn then in 1967 it merged with Denbigh Grammar to become Denbigh High School. The building on Middle Lane built in 1903 for Denbigh County School was used by Denbigh High School as part of a split site school with the building on Ruthin Road but ceased to be used by them in 1983. The old Love Lane school building became Grade II listed and later used as flats.
This collection includes log books and inspectors reports.
69 Love Lane Denbigh, LL16 3LT
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
ED/LB/24/13 (Frongoch school) for Girls school log book 1880-1895