Manuscript volume containing minutes of the proceedings of the Commissioners for Examining Public Accounts, 30 Mar-14 Aug 1703. The manuscript is volume four of a series, and has an index at the end.
Commissioners for Examining Public Accounts
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 77
- Dates of Creation1703
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume containing 173 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The earliest surviving mention of a public official charged with auditing government expenditure is a reference to the Auditor of the Exchequer in 1314. The Auditors of the Imprest were established under Queen Elizabeth I in 1559 with formal responsibility for auditing Exchequer payments. This system gradually lapsed and in 1780, Commissioners for Auditing the Public Accounts were appointed by statute. From 1834, the Commissioners worked in tandem with the Comptroller of the Exchequer, who was charged with controlling the issue of funds to the government.
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Access to archive collections may be restricted under the Freedom of Information Act. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Part of the Goldsmith's Library of Economic Literature, initially collected by Herbert Somerton Foxwell and presented by the Goldsmith's Company to the University of London in 1903.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Manuscript folio. Bound in quarter-morocco.
Compiled by Sarah Smith as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
The House of Lords Record Office, London, holds papers of the Commissioners of Accounts, including reports and statements, 1669-1785.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.
The manuscript was part of the library of Thomas Carew of Crowcombe Court (d 1766). It was bought by Herbert Somerton Foxwell in 1903.