Parish records of York, St Chad

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1926-1991; register of marriages, 1928-2004; register of funerals, 1926-1993; register of banns, 1928-1955, 1960-1989; register of services, 1911-1995; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1922-1966; records of incumbents, including photographs of rector, 1928; financial records, including financial standing committee minutes, 2000-2001, and correspondence and papers relating to charity donations, 2006-2010; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church hall plans and drawings, 1911; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1928-2009, magazines, 1954-1959, 1968-1980, accounts, 1937-1963, electoral rolls, 2000-2006, and parish map, 1928; drawing and plan of York, St Chad, by Brierley and Rutherford, architects, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

York, St Chad was preceded by a mission room in South Bank Avenue, in the parish of York, St Mary Bishophill Senior. The church was built in red brick by the architect W. H. Brierley during 1925-1926 and was consecrated as St Chad's in 1926. The church building differs from the original plans, with only half the original plan actually realised.

In 1928 St Chad's ceased functioning as a chapel-of-ease of St Mary Bishophill Senior, and became a parish in its own right, also receiving a portion of York, Holy Trinity Micklegate.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1981 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1991, 1997, 1999 and 2014.

Note

York, St Chad was preceded by a mission room in South Bank Avenue, in the parish of York, St Mary Bishophill Senior. The church was built in red brick by the architect W. H. Brierley during 1925-1926 and was consecrated as St Chad's in 1926. The church building differs from the original plans, with only half the original plan actually realised.

In 1928 St Chad's ceased functioning as a chapel-of-ease of St Mary Bishophill Senior, and became a parish in its own right, also receiving a portion of York, Holy Trinity Micklegate.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999. Later material has not yet been listed.

Archivist's Note

Created 10.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of York, St Mary Bishophill Senior and the architectural archive of Brierley Groom are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193