School register, 1873 - 1886, listing name and address of parent/guardian, previous training/school, age on entry, and remarks re. progress, character, health etc.. Enclosures include newspaper cuttings, 1885 and n.d., re. success of pupils in University examinations, and list of fourth form pupils, n.d.
Records of W.G. Walker's Academy, 1873 - 1886
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
W.G. Walker's Academy opened in Aberdeen in April 1873. It was situated first at 183a Union Street, in rooms rented from the Young Men's Christian Association, but later moved to 238 Union Street (1874), and latterly to 2 West Craibstone Street. In the summer term of 1873, pupils from Dr. Tulloch's recently-closed Bellvue Academy were transferred to the school. W.G. Walker had previously taught at Dr Tulloch's Academy.
Conditions Governing Access
Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet
Not recorded, probably some time after 1910
Other Finding Aids
Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/
Alternative Form Available
No copies known.
Conditions Governing Use
Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org ) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
No accruals expected
No known publications using this material.
This material is original.