Solomon Andrews Papers

Scope and Content

Records relating to Solomon Andrews & Son's business interests, mainly in Pwllheli, Caernarfonshire, and Arthog, Merionethshire, 1749-1985, comprising correspondence relating to Pwllheli, 1864-1970, Arthog, 1889-1957, and Aberdyfi, 1899-1919, the general business in Cardiff, 1854, 1897-1943, and elsewhere, 1898-1933; deeds relating to Barmouth, Dolgellau, Llanegryn, Llangelynnin and Tywyn, Merionethshire, Deneio (including Pwllheli), Llanbedrog, Llannor, and the Madryn and Vaynol estates, Caernarfonshire, 1749-1985; management books, reports, valuations, property lists and other records relating to the management of the Pwllheli and Arthog estates, 1884-1949; financial records relating to Pwllheli, Arthog and elsewhere, 1894-1947; printed material promoting the developments in Pwllheli, 1896-1955; printed books and journals, 1811-1939; newspaper cuttings, 1832-1966; maps, plans and sections relating to Pwllheli and Arthog, 1877-1951; sale catalogues, 1893-1941; and photographs, 1886-[c. 1965], relating mainly to Pwllheli and Solomon Andrews' business interests but also to North Wales generally.

Administrative / Biographical History

Solomon Andrews (1835-1908) was an entrepreneur. Born in Trowbridge, Wiltshire, by 1851 he was working in Cardiff, Glamorgan, as a baker and confectioner. By the late 19th century, his varied business interests included cabs, omnibuses and trams in Cardiff, Belfast and several English cities, construction, drapery, men's outfitting and other retailing concerns, colliery ownership, and property developments at Penarth, Glamorgan, Pwllheli, Caernarfonshire, and Arthog, Merionethshire. By 1884, his son Francis Emile became a partner in the business, Solomon Andrews & Son. In 1893 Solomon and Francis Emile purchased land at West End, Pwllheli, and began to develop it as a holiday resort. The developments here included a Promenade, roads and houses and the West End Hotel. In 1896, they purchased Glyn-y-weddw mansion and other parts of the Madryn Estate, Llanbedrog, Caernarfonshire. In order to provide the stone required to build at the West End Andrews leased a quarry at Carreg-y-Defaid. The company constructed a tramway which carried the stone and also passengers, until the tracks were taken up by the council in 1928. Entertainment was organised during the summer at the West End, with Fred E. Young being Entertainments Manager from 1899. In 1902 he replaced Thomas Cunningham as Estate Manager, retiring in 1937. The company also owned property in the vicinity of Arthog, Llangelynnin, Merionethshire, including farmland and houses and had interests in the common and marsh in Aberdyfi, Tywyn, Merionethshire.


Arranged into the following: correspondence; deeds; management of the estate in North Wales; financial; printed materials re. promoting the North Wales estates of Solomon Andrews; printed books and journals; newspaper cuttings; maps; miscellaneous; additional deposit, April 1980; additional deposit; additional deposit; additional deposit, October 1988; additional papers; additional deposit, August 1991; additional deposit, August 1994 (XD/28): Pwllheli; recreation; other places; and albums (XS/1853).

Access Information

No restrictions


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Solomon Andrews Papers, catalogue; Caernarfon Record Office, Solomon Andrews Photographs, catalogue; Oriel Plas Glyn-y-Weddw Arts Centre website (, viewed 2 July 2004.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office and the National Library of Wales.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records are in Glamorgan Record Office, Solomon Andrews and Son.