Includes correspondence, chiefly 1972-1973; Typescript and MS draft articles submitted for publication, with a small number of related photographs; and an unbound set of the UEA Bulletin, as published.
UEA Collection: UEA Bulletin
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1187 UEA/BUL
- Dates of Creation1965-1975
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 box; three files; 1.5 linear feet
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Bulletin, later UEA Bulletin, began publication in October 1965 in the light of the rapid growth of UEA, as a publication which would tell us what is going on [foreword to the first issue by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Frank Thistlethwaite]. The publication schedule was determined by the dates of meetings of the University's Senate and Council, and appeared between three and five times a year. The first editor was Dr Michael Sanderson, a member of faculty in the School of Economic and Social Studies.
In February 1968 John Kimber, a senior librarian, took over the editorship and this marked the transition of The Bulletin from a newspaper to a general review, and a change of format from quarto to octavo. A new series began publication in October of that year.
In the August 1975 issue the last editor, Judith Crabtree, also of the University Library, announced that publication was being suspended as part of a round of economies (the Freeze) throughout the University. Publication was never resumed.
Conditions Governing Access
Other than where a specific access restriction is noted, the collection is open for consultation in the Archives Department during its advertised opening hours.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproductions can be supplied in hard copy or digital format subject to physical condition and the terms of deposit. A charge is made for this service. Copyright restrictions may apply and the advice of the Archives department should be sought for any use of reproductions other than personal research.
This sub-collection was donated by Judith Crabtree in February 1993.