Log books, 1875-1964; admission registers, 1917-1964; infants attendance registers, 1954-1955; summary attendance registers, 1924-1944; stocks and stores account books, 1934-1963.
Melin/Melincryddan, later Herbert Road School, Neath, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 E/N 17
- Dates of Creation1875-1964
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(19 volumes)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Melin (or Melincryddan) School, Neath, Glamorgan, was a board school managed by the Llantwit Lower School Board. It was established in about 1875 under the Education Act 1870 and was attended by pupils from both the Llantwit Lower and Neath School Board areas. In 1899 a new school was opened in Herbert Road for Llantwit Lower pupils and the Neath School Board took over the former site. Herbert Road School became Pencaerau School in 1953.
Arranged chronologically into: log books; admission registers; attendance registers; summary attendance registers; stocks and stores account books.
Conditions Governing Access
Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected