Commercial School for Girls, Walthamstow

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of the Commercial School for Girls, Walthamstow, comprising:

'The Lantern', student magazine of the Commercial School for Girls, 1923-1937.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Girls' Commercial Secondary School for Girls opened in 1919 alongside the existing Walthamstow Technical Institute. It merged with the technical institutes of Walthamstow and Leyton and the Leyton School of Art to form the South West Essex Technical College in 1938.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is by appointment only, please contact the Archives Department, University of East London, for information. See: www.uel/lls/archives

Acquisition Information

Transferred from the library at UEL's Barking campus in 2006.

Archivist's Note

Source: 'A History of the County of Essex: Volume 6', Victoria County History, 1973.

Conditions Governing Use

Copies, subject to copyright and the condition of the original, may be supplied. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the archivist.

Custodial History

Before its move to the Docklands Campus, the uncatalogued and unsorted institutional archive was housed in UEL's Barking Campus and an external store. When the Barking Campus closed in 2006, the material which was held onsite was transferred, however the external store material was not and as a consequence is lost. The extant material is therefore of a very patchy nature. There are no student records.

Related Material

Walthamstow Technical Institute, 1920-1938; Leyton Technical Institute, later Leyton Technical College, 1898-1938; South West Essex Technical College, later Waltham Forest Technical College, 1938-1970.