Symbolae Scoticae

Scope and Content

The volumes contain mainly engravings, largely from books and journals of the 18th and 19th centuries, illustrating Scottish topography. One volume contains illustrations and other material relating to Edinburgh, and the other volumes describe Midlothian, East Lothian and West Lothian; Peebles, Selkirk, Roxburgh, Berwick, and material about Sir Walter Scott; Perth, Forfar, and Dundee; Arran, Bute, Ayr, Wigton, Kirkcudbright, Dumfries, and material on Robert Burns; Stirling, Lanark, Glasgow, Renfrew, and Dunbarton; Aberdeen, Angus, Elgin, Banff, Inverness, and Argyll; and, Ross, Sutherland, Caithness, Orkney, Shetland, and the Hebrides.

Administrative / Biographical History


Access Information

Contact the repository for details