Society records of the Methodist Church, Copmanthorpe Wesleyan Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' meeting minute books, 1875-1900, 1902-1977, and correspondence and papers, 1969-1977; Methodist Society minutes, 1961-1965, with Leaders' meeting minutes, 1962-1980; Church Council meeting minutes, 1981-1986; correspondence of the property and finance committee, 1984; Thursday Guild minute book, 1962-1980; Women's Fellowship annual reports, 1960-1981; Sunday School teachers' meeting minutes, 1963-1987; correspondence, reports and bills concerning the extension of the church, 1969-1981; collection journal, 1952-1964; church notice book, 1982-1984, and weekly notice sheets, 1982-1997; commemorative book for leaving minister and his wife, 1990s.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Methodist mission was active in Copmanthorpe from 1787 but it was not until 1821 that a building in the village was leased to the Methodist Society for use as a Wesleyan Chapel. It was later restored and enlarged in 1883. In 1879 the Wesleyan church purchased the Methodist Free Church in the village and converted it into a Sunday School.

In 1958 the Society built a new church on Main Street to replace the earlier structure, and a new extension was added to accommodate the growing congregation in 1981.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it 1867 the chapel became part of the new York, Wesley Circuit. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932 it remained part of the new and enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of the Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit and since 2012 it has been part of a single York Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 2000. Further additions were made to the archive in 2000 and at a later date.

Note

A Methodist mission was active in Copmanthorpe from 1787 but it was not until 1821 that a building in the village was leased to the Methodist Society for use as a Wesleyan Chapel. It was later restored and enlarged in 1883. In 1879 the Wesleyan church purchased the Methodist Free Church in the village and converted it into a Sunday School.

In 1958 the Society built a new church on Main Street to replace the earlier structure, and a new extension was added to accommodate the growing congregation in 1981.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it 1867 the chapel became part of the new York, Wesley Circuit. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932 it remained part of the new and enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of the Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit and since 2012 it has been part of a single York Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 08.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and of the York, Wesley and York, South Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of York Circuit form part of the Circuit Records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1). The records for both York, Wesley Circuits form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York, Wesley Circuit (MRC/2).

Additional Information

Published

GB193