The Buildings of Huddersfield project was initiated by the Local Architecture Research Group, to research and make available historical information about the architecture of buildings in the town. The Group was made possible by an HLF grant, which funded the creation of the steering group, the research project, and funds to disseminate the information, both through a website and through public events.
Buildings of Huddersfield Project Archive
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1103 BOH
- Dates of Creation1868-2012
- Physical Description9 boxes and a CDROM (29 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Local Architecture Research Group was led by Richard Fellows, Professor of Architecture at the University, and was made up of both internal and external interested parties, from the University Archivist, to a representative of the Civic Society. They acted as a steering group, appointing the researcher and coming up with events and activities to educate the publlic on the subject.
Original available for consultation by appointment
The original research sheets for recording information from the Building Plan Registers for the Central Wards 1868-1970 were appraised and destroyed during cataloguing, as the resulting database containing this information was retained. Three blue files of photographs originally acquired from the University Archives were repatriated and a small number of original sources were transferred to the Yorkshire collection. Admin files were weeded for duplicates and copies.
Held within the filing cabinets in SB/43 as part of Brian Haigh's research notes and former Archivist Hilary Haigh's files.