South African Institute of Race Relations: Natal Region

Scope and Content

Photocopies of minutes and reports of the South African Institute of Race Relations: Natal Region, 1961-1962; comprising minutes and papers of Regional Committee meetings; Natal Regional Organiser's Reports, with account of financing of Non-European Educational Fund; African Affairs Sub-Committee minutes and African Fact-Finding Sub-Committee minutes.

Administrative / Biographical History

The South African Institute of Race Relations was established in 1929.


1 file

Access Information

Open although advance notice should be given. Access to individual items may be restricted under the Data Protection Act or the Freedom of Information Act.

Acquisition Information

The souce of acquisition by ICS is not known

Other Finding Aids

Catalogued to item level (see link to repository catalogue).

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Alan Kucia as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.

Separated Material

The main bulk of the South African Institute of Race Relations (SAIRR) archives have been deposited with the Department of Historical Papers, The Library, University of the Witwatersrand, Private Bag X1, P.O.Wits 2050 South Africa.

Conditions Governing Use

A photocopying service is available, at the discretion of the Library staff. Copies are supplied solely for research or private study. Requests to publish, or to quote from original material should be submitted to the Information Resources Manager.

Related Material

The ICS holds a large number of collections relating to South African politics and race relations, including African National Congress (ICS 1), Mary Benson (ICS 6), Ruth First (ICS 117), Marion Friedmann (ICS 20), Ruth Hayman (ICS 30) Baruch Hirson (ICS 32), Mandela Trials papers (ICS 52), Josie Palmer (ICS 57), Edward Roux (ICS 67), A L Saffery (ICS 69), University of Cape Town (ICS 81-82), University of Transkei (ICS 19).

Location of Originals

Presumed to be with other SAIRR papers in the Library of the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa.