Gower Rural District Council was established in 1894 under the terms of the Local Government Act of that year. It consisted of the parishes of Llanmadoc, Llangennith, Cheriton, Llanrhidian, Bishopston, Pennard, Ilston, Penmaen, Nicholaston, Oxwich, Penrice, Reynoldston, Knelston, Llanddewi, Port Eynon, Rhossili, and the northern half of Oystermouth parish, which was called Brynau, although this was ceded to the County Borough of Swansea following the enlargement of the borough boundaries in 1918. The Council was responsible for a range of local services including sanitation, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. Rural District Councils were administered by committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Housing Officer and Surveyor. Gower Rural District Council was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation and its functions were assumed by the City of Swansea.