Society records of the Methodist Church, Acomb Primitive Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Registers of marriages, 1939-1947; leaders' meeting minute book, 1927-1947; Trustees' meeting minute book, 1910-1947; collection journal and society steward's records, 1937-1947; Sunday School attendance register, 1934-1945; church notice book, 1943-1946; financial records, including book of weekly payment to caretakers, 1943-1947, York County Savings Bank book, 1944-1947, Yorkshire Penny Bank book, 1947, and miscellaneous receipts and invoices, 1937-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

A chapel was originally built on the Green at Acomb in 1846 for the joint use of the Primitive Methodist and Free Church congregation. Around 1860 the Primitive Methodists purchased the building outright and carried out a number of alterations before they re-opened it as a Primitive Methodist Chapel in 1860. The opening ceremony included a performance by the Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Chapel choir.

Originally part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, the Front Street chapel transferred to the new Victoria Bar Circuit after the original York Circuit was divided into two in 1883.

The chapel site was sold to the Society of Friends in 1911 and a new Primitive Methodist chapel was opened on Front Street, Acomb, in 1912, which later became known as Sanctuary Chapel.

In 1947 the congregation of the Sanctuary Chapel united with that of the Acomb, Wesleyan Trinity Chapel and Sanctuary Chapel ceased to be used for worship. The building was demolished in the 1960s.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1991. A further addition was made to the archive in 2000.

Note

A chapel was originally built on the Green at Acomb in 1846 for the joint use of the Primitive Methodist and Free Church congregation. Around 1860 the Primitive Methodists purchased the building outright and carried out a number of alterations before they re-opened it as a Primitive Methodist Chapel in 1860. The opening ceremony included a performance by the Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Chapel choir.

Originally part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, the Front Street chapel transferred to the new Victoria Bar Circuit after the original York Circuit was divided into two in 1883.

The chapel site was sold to the Society of Friends in 1911 and a new Primitive Methodist chapel was opened on Front Street, Acomb, in 1912, which later became known as Sanctuary Chapel.

In 1947 the congregation of the Sanctuary Chapel united with that of the Acomb, Wesleyan Trinity Chapel and Sanctuary Chapel ceased to be used for worship. The building was demolished in the 1960s.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2000.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 08.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York Circuit and York, Victoria Bar Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The York Circuit records are part of the records of York (Monkgate) Circuit.

Additional Information

Published

GB193