Banwen School

Archive Collection
  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 216 E/W 2
  • Dates of Creation
      1896-2007
  • Language of Material
      English Welsh
  • Physical Description
      21 vols; 3 bundles

Scope and Content

E/W 2/1/1-5 Log books

E/W 2/2/1-7 Admission registers

E/W 2/3/1-7 Other records

E/W 2/4/1-7 Photographs

Administrative / Biographical History

Situated in Llangiwg parish, on the Brecon Road north of Pontardawe. Banwen Board School opened in 1896 with a separate infants and junior mixed departments. A new Infants School was opened on 8 November 1909 and the Old Infants Department was taken over by the Junior Mixed Department. The school became known as Banwen Council School in September 1903, when Glamorgan County Council took over the responsibility of the running of the school from the Llangiwg School Board. The infants and junior mixed departments amalgamated in September 1940, and the infants school was given over entirely to evacuees. The school later became known as Glyn Primary School and then Ysgol Gynradd Y Glyn.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.