Records of Directors, Records of Shareholders, Records of Administration, Records of Finance, Records of Sales, Staff Records, Marketing and Public Relations, Relations with External Bodies and Printed Records.
Blenkhorn Richardson & Co. Ltd., Woollen Manufacturers, Hawick
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 582 HWUA BR
- Dates of Creation1881-1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description45 volumes, ca. 9 linear metres; volumes and papers, fabric samples.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Farrar Blenkhorn was born in around 1852 in Thirsk, Yorkshire where his father was a farmer. He came to Hawick in about 1879 as a traveller for Messrs Armstrong and Diener, Tweed Merchants. He initially went into business with Mr Borthwick, the firm being known as Messrs Borthwick and Blenkhorn, later known as Borthwick and Ingram. Some years later, John Farrar Blenkhorn went into business with his brother-in-law Mr John Richardson as Tweed Manufacturers. They occupied rented premises in Galashiels. In around 1882 they returned to Hawick and established Eastfield Mills, which in conjunction with Riversdale Mills was one of the largest manufacturers in the South of Scotland. The business became a limited liability company with John Farrar Blenkhorn as Managing Director. In 1897 he purchased the mansion house and estates of Stirches where he died in May 1909. The company closed in 1974.
Records are arranged chronologically by type following classification scheme.
By appointment. Closure periods may apply to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing personal information. Access to records in a fragile condition may be restricted.
Other Finding Aids
Fonds, series and item level printed and computerised list available in the Searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
Private study and research, subject to the condition of the documents. Applications for permission to quote from or publish images from the collection should be sent to the University Archivist.
Records suggest that in 1975, when records were selected for retention, wage records were sampled. A sample was retained for every decade.
On the company's liquidation in 1975, records were surveyed and selected for retention by the previous Librarian at the Scottish College of Textiles, at the request of Blenkhorn Richardson & Co. Ltd., Eastfield Mills, Hawick. The records were first listed as part of the Archive by the Business Archives Council (Scotland) Surveying Officer in 1988 while in the High Mill. Following the merger of the Scottish College of Textiles with Heriot-Watt University in October 1998, responsibility for the collection was transferred to Heriot-Watt University Archive, Records Management and Museum Service. In September 2000, the Archive moved to the Main Building at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.
The collection is original.