Estate maps of the farms and commons belonging to the Duke of Beaufort in Gower, Glamorgan, 1803, 1830.
Beaufort Estate papers
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Dukes of Beaufort hold the title of Lord of Gower and Kilvey and still own significant estates in eastern Gower. The estate formerly consisted of lands in the parishes of Bishopston, Ilston, Llandeilo Talybont, Llangyfelach, Llanrhidian, Llansamlet, Loughor, Oystermouth, Penmaen, Pennard and Swansea. In 1837 a special Act of Parliament was passed to enable the Duke of Beaufort to sell a large part of his estate.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley of West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service. A full description of the plans is given in Hilary Thomas, A catalogue of Glamorgan estate maps (Cowbridge and Bridgend, 1992)
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected