Parish records of Ellerton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1675-1980 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1785); register of marriages, 1675-1971; register of burials, 1675-1813, 1818-1987 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1780-1809, ages only); register of banns, 1824-1981; register of services, 1939-1982; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1874-1941, and lease, 1884; charity records, including accounts, 1891-1913, plan of almshouses, 1966, and correspondence, 1887; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1891-1904, 1936-1958, rates, 1828, fabric papers, 1848, c.1970, and church photograph, 19th century; records of incumbents, including correspondence regarding union of benefice with Aughton, 1920; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1801-1829, 1837-1886, rates, 1868-1901, and apprenticeship indentures, 1751, 1799; school records, including reports of religious instruction, 1891-1896, 1899-1904, 1912, 1918, deeds, 1872, 1967, and valuation, 1966; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1843-1895, rates, 1875-1890, and notes of men employed and work done, 1893-1895; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including enclosure agreement, 1781, enclosure award and map, 1810, rates under Cattle Diseases Prevention Act, 1866, and roll of honour, 1914-1918; correspondence, report and plans regarding redundant church of Ellerton Priory, St Mary and St Lawrence, 1996–2004.

Administrative / Biographical History

William Fitz-Peter founded a Priory at Ellerton c.1221 for the Order of St Gilbert of Sempringham. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the Priory, dedicated to the Virgin Mary and St Lawrence, was granted to Sir John Aske. The nave of the Priory church subsequently became the parish church of Ellerton.

The advowson of the church was augmented in 1732 and 1794 through Queen Anne's Bounty. By the 1840s the medieval church building had fallen into considerable disrepair and the architect John Loughborough Pearson was commissioned to design a new parish church, dedicated to St Mary, which was completed and consecrated in 1848. The medieval church was demolished.

The church was made redundant and appropriated for use as joiner's workshop on the 14th Nov 1979. In 1995 it was taken over by the newly formed Ellerton Church Preservation Trust and has since been restored.

Today Ellerton is part of the parish of Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1967 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1968, 1980, 1983, 1992 and c.2004.

Note

William Fitz-Peter founded a Priory at Ellerton c.1221 for the Order of St Gilbert of Sempringham. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the Priory, dedicated to the Virgin Mary and St Lawrence, was granted to Sir John Aske. The nave of the Priory church subsequently became the parish church of Ellerton.

The advowson of the church was augmented in 1732 and 1794 through Queen Anne's Bounty. By the 1840s the medieval church building had fallen into considerable disrepair and the architect John Loughborough Pearson was commissioned to design a new parish church, dedicated to St Mary, which was completed and consecrated in 1848. The medieval church was demolished.

The church was made redundant and appropriated for use as joiner's workshop on the 14th Nov 1979. In 1995 it was taken over by the newly formed Ellerton Church Preservation Trust and has since been restored.

Today Ellerton is part of the parish of Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2004.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1675-1885, marriages, 1675-1885, burials, 1675-1987, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 679, 882, 176).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 04.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193