Parish records of Bielby

Scope and Content

Includes register of services, 1903-1935; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1907-1909, 1914; charity records, including accounts, 1912-1913, 1923-1965 and letter, 1958; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1906, 1921, 1934, 1947, 1955-1956, 1958; records of incumbents, including correspondence regarding union of benefices, 1956-1959, statistical returns, 1956, 1958, and benefice papers, 1959, 1981; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including correspondence relating to village hall, 1956-1957, 1962, and correspondence regarding Pocklington Evening Institute, 1955; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1903-1950, accounts, 1917-1924, and correspondence and papers, 1903-1970; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1944, accounts, 1920-1943, 1960-1984, and electoral roll, 1920-1978.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Giles’ Church, Bielby, was created as a chapel of ease to the parish of Hayton and was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century.
The church dates from the twelfth century and was substantially rebuilt c.1792. It is notable for having a complete and unaltered set of early nineteenth century box pews.
In 1959 Bielby chapelry separated from Hayton to become part of the benefice of Seaton Ross with Everingham and Harswell. From 1980 this benefice also included Melbourne and Thornton. Today it forms part of the parish of Everingham and Bielby.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1984 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1985, 1987 and 2009.

Note

St Giles’ Church, Bielby, was created as a chapel of ease to the parish of Hayton and was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the nineteenth century.
The church dates from the twelfth century and was substantially rebuilt c.1792. It is notable for having a complete and unaltered set of early nineteenth century box pews.
In 1959 Bielby chapelry separated from Hayton to become part of the benefice of Seaton Ross with Everingham and Harswell. From 1980 this benefice also included Melbourne and Thornton. Today it forms part of the parish of Everingham and Bielby.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1987. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.12.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193