Parish records of Copmanthorpe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1759-1997 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1781-1812, maiden names only); register of marriages, 1845-2008; register of burials, 1759-1947 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1796-1812, ages only); register of banns, 1876-1965; register of services, 1862-2013; charity records, including papers regarding Norfolk's Charity, Hobson's Charity and Nalton Memorial Fund, c.1894-1923; churchwardens records, including accounts, 1846-1926, churchyard deeds, 1817-1872, churchyard and burial ground papers, 1872, 1922-1982, and fabric papers, 1889-2015; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1967, and dilapidations account, 1970; school records, including accounts, 1871-1891, and papers, 1898-1966; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1846-2008, and miscellaneous papers, 1982; photographs of Copmanthorpe vicars, 19th century-c.2007; photographs of St Giles’ Church, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

Copmanthorpe was a chapel of ease within the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior, York, and was thus subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until 1836. The parish church, dedicated to St Giles, was built in 1180, and the chapel yard was used for burials from 1750 until the first half of the twentieth century.

In 1844 the two chapelries of Copmanthorpe and Upper Poppleton separated from St Mary Bishophill Junior. In 1866 Upper Poppleton was added to Nether Poppleton parish, whilst Copmanthorpe became fully independent.

In 1889 St Giles’ Church was restored and enlarged by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. A new porch and vestry were added in 1977 and in 1992 the St Giles’ Centre was built as a parish hall and meeting space.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1987, 2003, 2011 and 2017.

Note

Copmanthorpe was a chapel of ease within the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior, York, and was thus subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until 1836. The parish church, dedicated to St Giles, was built in 1180, and the chapel yard was used for burials from 1750 until the first half of the twentieth century.

In 1844 the two chapelries of Copmanthorpe and Upper Poppleton separated from St Mary Bishophill Junior. In 1866 Upper Poppleton was added to Nether Poppleton parish, whilst Copmanthorpe became fully independent.

In 1889 St Giles’ Church was restored and enlarged by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. A new porch and vestry were added in 1977 and in 1992 the St Giles’ Centre was built as a parish hall and meeting space.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2017.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1759-1883, burials, 1759-1885, and banns, 1876-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 668).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193