Parish records of Newton Kyme

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1633-1636, 1682-1791, 1793-1811, 1813-1982; register of marriages, 1634-1636, 1682-1808, 1813-2007; register of burials, 1633-1636, 1682-1991 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1781-1812); register of banns, 1824-1982; register of services, 1894-1992; register of confirmations, 1837; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1927-1947, surplice fees, 1799-1801, tithe papers, 1791-1922, and glebe valuations, 1913-1915; charity records, including accounts, 1823-1824, 1930-1966, correspondence, papers and apprenticeship indentures, 1654-1935, 1955-1962; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1833-1928, restoration papers, 1922-1938, fabric papers, 1788, 1936-1981, visitors' books, 1897-1938, and churchyard papers, 1872, 1937-1941; records of incumbents, including personal account books, 1927-1947, personal papers, 1964-1967, correspondence regarding suspension of presentation, 1974-1983, Tadcaster Deanery Synod minutes of meetings, 1974-1982, and parsonage house papers, 1771, 1944, 1958-1963, 1969-1982; overseers’ records, including apprenticeship indentures, 1774-1841; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1904-1955, and correspondence and papers, 1872-1916; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1894-1953, 1970s-1998, accounts, 1960, 1962, 1965, 1981-1982, electoral roll, 1920-1984, and map of fields, 1810; George E. Kirk, ‘St Andrew’s Church, Newton Kyme’, 1953; photographs of church interior and exterior, n.d. [20th century].

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Newton Kyme from at least the twelfth century, when the first known incumbent was recorded. The patronage of the church was in the possession of the Barons de Kyme from an early date, from whom the village derives its name, although it was later held by the Talboys, and then by the Fairfax family from 1615.

The present church of St Andrew dates to the twelfth century. It was extended in the thirteenth and fifteenth centuries and the floor and seating was replaced in 1883. The three eighteenth century bells were recast and rehung in 1938.

Today Newton Kyme parish is part of the benefice of Tadcaster, which also includes Church Fenton, Kirkby Wharfe, Stutton and Tadcaster.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1993, 1999, 2011 and 2015.

Note

There was a church at Newton Kyme from at least the twelfth century, when the first known incumbent was recorded. The patronage of the church was in the possession of the Barons de Kyme from an early date, from whom the village derives its name, although it was later held by the Talboys, and then by the Fairfax family from 1615.

The present church of St Andrew dates to the twelfth century. It was extended in the thirteenth and fifteenth centuries and the floor and seating was replaced in 1883. The three eighteenth century bells were recast and rehung in 1938.

Today Newton Kyme parish is part of the benefice of Tadcaster, which also includes Church Fenton, Kirkby Wharfe, Stutton and Tadcaster.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2015.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1633-1900, marriages, 1634-1900, burials, 1632/3-1991, and banns, 1824-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1833-1900, tithe award, 1842, marriage licenses, 1787-1860, confirmation census, 1799-1837, and apprenticeship indentures, 1654-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 743, 1757, 1755, 883, 1766).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 29.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193