Department of Aerospace Engineering

Scope and Content

Degree and class examination papers 1924-1938  .

Administrative / Biographical History

The Department of Aerospace Engineering (Aeronautics and Fluid Mechanics as it was then) was created by endowment of the Mechan Chair within the University of Glasgow in 1951  . The Department's first Head was William Duncan a world renowned dynamicist, who was succeeded in 1961  by Terrence Nonweiler - the inventor of the waverider spacecraft concept. There are currently six distinct research groups in the Department: Computational Fluid Dynamics, Low Speed Aerodynamics, Flight Dynamics, Space Systems Engineering, Air Traffic Management and Avionics, and Structures and Design. The department has research links with BAE Systems, Agusta-Westlands, the Civil Aviation Authority, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Medical Research Council, US Army, Lockheed Martin, and is involved in several European initiatives.

Other Finding Aids

A digital file level list is available in the searchroom.

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Related Material

No related material

Location of Originals

This material is original


No known publications using this material

Additional Information

University of Glasgow

Subfonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, archives assistant, 17 January 2002  and John O'Brien, archives assistant, October 2002  .