Records of the Comitia

Scope and Content

  • Minutes of meetings of the Comitia 1730-1770 (ref: GB 0248 GUA 26639-26644)
  • copy public notices for meetings of the Comitia 1835 (ref: GB 0248 GUA 26683)

Administrative / Biographical History

Until 1858, the whole business of the University was transacted in three distinct courts - namely, the Senate, the Faculty, and the Comitia. The Comitia, in which the right of election of the Rector was vested, consisted of all the members of the University, that is the Rector, the Vice-rector, The Dean of Faculties, the Principal, professors and matriculated students. On matriculation, students were incorporated as members of the University and so became members of the Comitia. The laws, Leges, of the University were promulgated early in each session in the Comitia. Degrees were also conferred at a special meeting of the Comitia. The Universities (Scotland) Act of 1858 made important changes to the constitution and government of Glasgow University. The distinction between the Faculty and the Senate was abolished, the Senate absorbing the Faculty, two new bodies, called the University Court, and University Council, were instituted; and Commissioners were appointed, armed with extensive powers of revision and regulation, who issued ordinances, sanctioned by the Crown, in accordance with which the affairs of the University were then administered. The Comitia was also abolished by this Act.

Additional Information

Subfonds level description compiled by Lesley Richmond, University Archivist, 18 October 2002  .