Records relating to the operation of the firm, mainly bonds and deeds to secure loans.
Tweedy, Williams & Company records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The private bank of Tweedy, Williams & Company was founded as Sir John Molesworth & Son in 1771 in Truro. Early partners included Sir Francis Bassett (later 1st Baron de Dunstanville and Bassett), who was a prominent public figure and MP for Penrhyn. Both he and the bank had close links with the Cornish copper mining industry.
Following partnership changes, the firm was renamed Praed & Company in 1800, and Tweedy, Williams & Company in 1830. It opened branches in Falmouth, Redruth and Penrhyn, and numbered Matthew Boulton of the steam engine builders Boulton & Watt among its customers.
In 1879 the firm failed, following the financial crisis precipitated by the collapse of the City of Glasgow Bank the previous October. It was reconstituted the same year as the Cornish Bank.
Conditions Governing Access
Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail email@example.com for further information.
Other Finding Aids
Item level catalogue available - please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org for further details.