- Memorandum and articles of association, 1925;
- Amalgamation/Liquidation papers, 1961;
- Production records, 1952;
- Promotional records, 1900–1940s;
- Photographs, 1932–1950s;
- Historical notes, c1982.
Records of John Wright & Co, brewers, Perth, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1786 William Wright , Alexander Ritchie , et al built a brewery and formed the Perth Brewing Company in Perth, Scotland . John Wright , the nephew of William Wright , became the sole proprietor of the company in 1835 and he entered into partnership with Robert Currie , his brewer, in 1842 and the company name changed to Wright & Currie . After John Wright 's death in 1849 his nephew John MacGrouter entered into partnership with Robert Currie under the name of Wright, Currie & Co . When Robert Currie died in 1852 John MacGrouter continued the business as sole partner under the name of John Wright & Co until his death in 1859 . Between 1852 and 1885 the company was owned by various individuals and was sold in 1885 by Duncan Robert Irwin . John Wright & Co was acquired from Duncan Robert Irwin by the brewer R B Wallace and Robert Nimmo , who had a legal and banking background. They rebuilt the brewhouse completely, constructed new offices and pioneered the firm’s strong interest in the bottling of Cider, Burton Ales and London & Dublin Stouts. An aerated water business was acquired in Dunkeld, Scotland , some time prior to the First World War and was used until 1931 . John Wright & Co exported its products to the West Indies , but the trade ceased during the First World War. In 1925 the firm became a private limited company and in 1926 acquired Muir & Martin , the only other brewery in Perth . David Martin , the sole proprietor of Muir & Martin , joined the board of John Wright & Co and a label, that for Strong Ale, was to bear his name for many years. In Thompson, Craik & Co 1952 , bottlers and aerated water manufacturers, Perth, Scotland , became a wholly owned subsidiary of John Wright & Co Ltd . Since 1960 , the company also bottled Bass and Worthington ( Bass, Ratcliff & Getton Ltd and Worthington & Co Ltd , both Burton–on–Trent, England ) naturally conditioned bottled beers and had the Scottish agency for Barclay Perkins Red Lable Stout of Barclay, Perkins & Co Ltd , brewers, London, England . In John Wright & Co Ltd 1961 was acquired by Vaux & Associated Breweries Ltd , Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England , for GBP 130,000 worth of Vaux shares and an undisclosed amount of cash. The brewery was closed in June 1964 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by a former director and head brewer in 1986.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
No physical characteristics that affect the use of this material.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
The Wee Murray , No 2 (March 1982).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 7 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 22 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 23 January 2002.