The Oxford University and City Baths were opened in 1852, on the corner of Castle Street and Brawner's Alley, and were intended to provide the labouring classes of the area with cheap baths and a cheap laundry. Neither venture prospered well: the laundry closed in 1863, and the baths in 1867. Part of the modern section of County Hall is built on the site. It is not known how these papers came to be found among the records of St.Peter le Bailey.
OXFORD ST. PETER LE BAILEY: PAPERS ON THE OXFORD UNIVERSITY AND CITY BATHS
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 PAR214/18
- Dates of Creation1850-1869