Signed minutes book
Danylan Building Club, Pontypridd, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A meeting was held at the Castell Ifor Hotel, Hopkinstown on 9 March 1905 to discuss the formation of a Building Club that would promote the construction of 50 houses on the Vaughan Lee Estate, Pwllgwaun near Pontypridd. The Club appointed a chairman, Patrick Gowan, drew up a list of subscription paying members and established Rules. It subsequently negotiated finance with the local London and Midland Bank, oversaw the designs put forward by A O Evans Williams Architects, Pontypridd and appointed the builders Jones, Humphreys and Owen of Cilfynydd. By September 1906 the first twelve houses on Danylan Road had been built with tenants paying 27 shillings per month rent. The remaining houses were built soon after. The Club dissolved 31 December 1911.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Transferred from Pontypridd Historical Centre Jun 2013
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Pontypridd Historical Centre received the record from the local authority when it was clearing office space. The Centre subsequently transferred the record to Glamorgan Archives June 2013.
Accruals are not expected.