Pulpit notices, 1922-1992; session minutes, 1918-1989; Sunday School minutes, 1948-1977; Chetwynd Hall minutes, 1918-1922; Congregational meeting minutes, 1922-1990; Women's Guild minutes, reports and other papers, 1931-1969; Committee of Management minutes, 1934-1972; correspondence and other papers, 1915-1979; annual reports, 1962-1982; church magazines; photographs; church history (published in 1983).
Records of Weoley Hill United Reformed Church
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 DA48
- Dates of Creation1918-1998
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description18 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Presbyterian Chapel in Green Meadow Road, Weoley Hill was dedicated in 1933. The congregation had been founded in 1922. Copies of a published history of the Church form part of the deposit and should be consulted for further information.
Reference: University of Birmingham, Special Collections Department, A History of the County of Warwick, Volume VII, The City of Birmingham, The Victoria History of the Counties of England ( Oxford University Press, Institute of Historical Research, 1964 ).
Open. Some confidential material is subject to a 50 year closure period. All papers held at the Orchard Learning Resources Centre will be viewed at the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department. Please contact the University Archivist for further information.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
The first deposit was made by the Weoley Hill United Reformed Church with the Selly Oak Colleges Library in 1983. A number of subsequent deposits have been made since then. The collection was transferred to the Orchard Learning Resources Centre which was opened in 1997 following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges Library and the Westhill College Library.
Other Finding Aids
Please see full catalogue for more information.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges and the University of Birmingham in 1999 the custodial ownership of collections belonging to the Selly Oak Colleges and held at the Orchard Learning and Resource Centre (OLRC) was transferred to the University. These collections now form part of the University's Special Collections Department and are available for consultation at the Main Library on the University's Edgbaston Campus.
Further deposits are expected.
The following publication is a useful source of information. Weoley Hill United Reformed Church 1915-1983. An Account by Margaret Glen and John Bartlett to celebrate the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Opening of the Buildings on 1 July 1983 ( Birmingham, Weoley Hill Church, 1983 ).