Admission registers, 1900-1979; log books 1872-1979
Llansamlet School Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llansamlet School, was originally established by the National Society to provide an Anglican education in 1870. The original building was located opposite Llansamlet Church. In 1900, the infants' and mixed schools were separated out. By 1927 the building was considered inadequate and a new building was erected on Walters Road. The new school was for mixed and infants. By 1947 the school building had become a senior school and Llansamlet County Secondary Mixed in 1953. In 1970 the mixed school was made a Junior Comprehensive. The Infants' School was closed in 1979 and the building became part of Llansamlet Junior Comprehensive School. See also E/Llan Sec for further records.
Arranged chronologically into: Admission registers; log books
Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998); Powys County Archives Office website (http://archives.powys.gov.uk), viewed 16 November 2005.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
No information available.
Accruals are not expected.