Lliw Valley Petty Sessions

Scope and Content

GOWERTON COURT: Minute books 1974-1984; court Registers 1974-1984; Other records, 1974-1983. PONTARDAWE COURT: Minute books 1974-1986; Court Registers 1974-1992; Enforcement registers (recording fines and fees) 1987-1991

Administrative / Biographical History

Lliw Valley Petty Sessions Division was established in 1974 by the amalgamation of the Pontardawe and Swansea Hundred divisions. There were two courts, sitting at Gowerton and Pontardawe. In 1996 the courts at Pontardawe and Gowerton were closed and the Lliw Valley Division was merged with Swansea Division.


Arranged by court into minute books, court registers and other records.

Conditions Governing Access

Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service not to disclose the identities of depositors.


Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service, and an online version is on the West Glamorgan Archive Service website.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal copyright regulations apply

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

See also the records of Llangyfelach Petty Sessions (P/S Lf), Pontardawe Petty Sessions (P/S Pd) and Swansea Hundred Petty Sessions (P/S S), at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.