Pembrokeshire Women's Institutes Records

Scope and Content

Pembrokeshire Women's Institute (WI) records, 1920-2004, comprising minutes, accounts, scrapbooks and other records of individual institutes, 1920-2004, including Boncath WI, 1924-1998, Burton WI, 1955-2004, Cilgerran WI, 1942-1986, Dale WI, 1927-1990, Haverfordwest WI, 1920-2002, Henner WI, 1955-2003, Newport WI (Newport, Pembrokeshire), 1947-2003, St Davids WI, 1935-1986, and Thornton WI, 1948-1977; records of the Pembrokeshire Federation, 1925-1975, including minutes, 1925-1967, and financial records, 1950-1963; and magazines of the Pembrokeshire WI Writers' Group, 1973-1978.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Women's Institute (WI) movement originated in Canada in 1897. In 1915 the National Federation of Women's Institutes (NFWI) was founded in Britain, originally as part of the Agricultural Organisation Society (AOS). Individual Institutes are self-governing and are grouped into county federations, such as Pembrokeshire FWI, which together make up the NFWI. The WI encourages women to participate in community life, cultural projects and public campaigns. Haverfordwest WI was formed in 1920, Boncath WI in 1924, and St Davids WI in 1936.


Arranged into the following: Dale; Henner; St Davids; Pembrokeshire Federation; Angle; Carew Cheriton; Castlemartin; Crosswell and District; Gwaun Valley; Hermon; Jordanston and District; Lambston; Manorbier; Maenclochog; Penbryn; Rosemarket; Tiers Cross; Treffgarne; Trefin; Pembrokeshire Federation; Llangwm; New Moat; Haverfordwest; Thornton; Pembrokeshire W. I. Writers' Group; Penwaun; Boncath; Cemaes group; Cilgerran; Burton; Mathry; Newport.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the Secretary, Dale Women's Institute, 1967, St Davids Women's Institute, 1977, Mrs E. M. Nash, St Davids, 1988, the Executive Committee, Pembrokeshire Federation, 1971, the County Secretary, 1974, the Secretary, Llangwm W. I., 1972, Mrs Parker, Secretary, New Moat Women's Institute, 1972, the Secretary, Haverfordwest Women's Institute, 1974, the Penwaun Women's Institute, Newcastle Emlyn, per Mr D. L. Baker-Jones, Carmarthen Library, 1983, Mrs A. James, Treasurer, Boncath Women's Institute, 1988, Mrs B. George, Fishguard, 1988, Mrs R. W. Jackson, Cilgerran, 1990, the President, Burton Women's Institute, 1992, the Secretary, Burton W. I., 1996, 2005, and the Secretary, Mathry W. I., 1993; other deposits, 1968-2004.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Women's Institutes,catalogue; National Federation of Women's Institues website (, viewed 16 June 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names