Records of Trevil Rail Road Company, 1795-1910; deeds and related records relating to land in Brecknockshire, Radnorshire and Kent, 1877-1932.
Trevil Rail Road Company Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Trevil Rail Road was constructed in 1793 to carry limestone from the Trefil Quarries to the ironworks at Beaufort and Ebbw Vale. The quarries continued to supply the Ebbw Vale works throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. In 1908, the rail road was converted into a narrow-gauge railway.
Arranged into the following: Trevil Rail Road Company; County of Brecon; County of Radnor; County of Kent.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by the Monmouth District Council Museums Service (Abergavenny).
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Catalogue of records deposited by the Monmouth District Council Museums Service (Abergavenny); Ebbw Vale Homepage, (http://www.bioeddie.co.uk/ebbw-vale/index.htm), viewed 23 February 2006.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Gwent Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Gwent Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected