Some accounts survive from the period 1786-1817, including records of European and American trade. Although the majority of later financial records are not present, ledgers cover the 1851-1886 period. The majority of the deeds and wills date from the late seventeenth to mid-nineteenth centuries and refer primarily to properties within Nottingham.
Records of J. and H. Hadden and Company Limited, Hosiers, Nottingham, 1685-1915
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Ha
- Dates of Creation1685-1915
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 box and 7 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Hadden firm was established in 1787 by three brothers, all hosiers, from Aberdeen. Initially they set up as merchant hosiers but by 1856 had built their own factory on Stanford Street, Nottingham.
Haddens became a limited company in the early twentieth century, lasting into the 1930s when it went into liquidation and was sold.
The records are divided into two series, Accounts and Deeds, within which a chronological arrangement is followed.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The Library acquired the records in 1952.